Zoom the image with the mouse

'The Devil Rides Out' Original Soundtrack LP Purple Vinyl

Write a Review
Out Stock

Out of stock

Add An Extra Option

Making its debut on vinyl is James Bernard’s soundtrack to Hammer’s classic 1968 film 'The Devil Rides Out'. Hammer built on previous success in the horror genre by seeking literary adaptations, and this film is based on the Denis Wheatley novel of the same name. The script was written by Richard Matheson, himself a successful author of the novel, 'I Am Legend' (1954), and with gothic horror maestro Terence Fisher directing, the resulting film remains one of Hammer’s most popular.

The story follows Nicholas, The Duc de Richleau (Christopher Lee) in his fight against a devil-worshipping cult. The Duc rescues his young friends and destroys the cult, with good triumphing over evil in a rare heroic role for Lee.

The supernatural suspense is further realised by Bernard’s tense soundtrack, and his music has since become synonymous with Hammer’s horror oeuvre. James Bernard had already scored releases for Hammer including 'The Curse of Frankenstein' (1957) and 'Dracula' (1958), and his distinctive clashing strings and driving percussion instantly conjure this iconic Hammer film.

Limited purple vinyl pressing - *please note that this product is new, but comes with no shrinkwrapping and is NOT sealed - this is the policy of Silva Screen Records, who are reducing their use of single use plastics*


Side A:

1. Opening Credits

2. Concerned Friends / Investigating The Observatory / Hidden Sacrifice

3. Protecting Simon

4. Balance Of Power

5. The Duc And Rex Follow Simon

6. Uninvited Guests

7. The Spirit In The Observatory

8. The Eve Of Mayday / Mocata's Presence

9. Pursuing Tanith

10. The Baptism Begins

11. Orgy Of Evil

12. "The Goat Of Mendes - The Devil Himself!"

13. Rescuing Simon And Tanith

Side B:

1. Mocata Visits The Eatons

2. Tanith Controls Rex / Inside The Circle

3. Visions Of Terror

4. The Angel Of Death

5. The Battle Is Lost / The Power Of Mocata

6. An Unstained Child

7. Finale And End Credits