Zoom the image with the mouse

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds The Firstborn Is Dead' LP Black Vinyl

Write a Review
In Stock

Add An Extra Option

‘The Firstborn Is Dead’, co-produced by Nick Cave, the band and Flood, is the second studio album released by Cave & The Bad Seeds, and was first released on June 3rd 1985. Cave explores his fascination with the American South, with references ranging from Elvis Presley to ‘Blind’ Lemon Jefferson.

Recorded in Berlin, Cave later said of this album, "Berlin gave us the freedom and encouragement to do whatever we wanted. We'd lived in London for three years and it seemed that if you stuck your head out of the box, people were pretty quick to knock it back in, particularly if you were Australian. When we came to Berlin it was the opposite. People saw us as some kind of force rather than a kind of wacky novelty act."

The album's name is a reference to Jesse Garon Presley, the stillborn identical twin of Elvis Presley, and ‘Wanted Man’ was Cave’s own take on a song Bob Dylan wrote for Johnny Cash. Dylan gave his permission for the lyrics to be changed, with Cave’s interpretation referencing his friends.

Vinyl is heavyweight 180 Gram. Vinyl transfer approval overseen by Mick Harvey Summer 2014, cut at Abbey Road studios. This edition, approved personally by Nick Cave, is finally available again on it’s original format.

LP black vinyl


1. Tupelo

2. Say Goodbye To The Little Girl Tree

3. Train Long Suffering

4. Black Crow King

5. Knockin' On Joe

6. Wanted Man

7. Blind Lemon Jefferson

Customers Also Viewed